THE SOCIETY OF OLD FRAMLINGHAMIANS ANNUAL DINNER 2017

The Society of Old Framlinghamians Annual Dinner was held at Framlingham College on 8 April 2017 following the Society's Annual General Meeting when John Ellerby was elected as President.

Immediately before the meal, Richard Sayer (Past President and President of the Corporation of Governors of Framlingham College) presented Norman Porter, the outgoing Hon Sec, with a gift marking his outstanding contribution to the Society. After the meal, The President of the Society, John Ellerby introduced himself and also the newly elected Hon Sec Abid Hamid. He then proceeded to welcome the Society's guests: Paul Taylor (Headmaster) and Amanda Taylor; Andrew Fane (outgoing Chairman of Governors); Norman Porter (outgoing Hon Sec) and Virginia Porter, Rene Bahar (Head of School), Grace Rider (Head Girl) and Harvey Finbow (Head Boy). He also paid particular tribute to his immediate predecessor, Chris Essex and his wife Eryl and to Norman Porter and his wife Virginia (who had been elected an Honorary OF at the preceding AGM) and to Andrew Fane. Having set out his vision for the Society he proposed a toast to Framlingham College and Brandeston Hall. Mr Paul Taylor gave the response and proposed a toast to the Society of Old Framlinghamians. Mr Andrew Fane and Mr Norman Porter also spoke.

Eight-six OF and their guests attended the dinner and feasted on smoked salmon with asparagus salad, roasted rump of lamb, a trio of puddings and a cheeseboard.

The longest serving OF present was Ken Mayhew (R29-34) who celebrated his 100th birthday earlier this year. Four OFs shared the position of most recent leavers: Katie Spowart (M09-16), Will Wright (R11-16), Malina Mihalache (M14-16) and Amelia Wilson (M14-16).

Those present were: Roger Askew K52-56, Rene Bahar (Head of School), Geoffrey Balls M73-76, Chris Bellamy G54-64, Marie Boland M93-00, Lucy Bryanton Hon OF, Brian Bryce R56-60, Ann Copeman, David Copeman K42-49, Thomas de Grey, Melanie Dodd, Norman Dodd G42-52, Margaret Dougherty, Simon Dougherty G60-67 (Past President), Helen Ellerby, John Ellerby G67-75 (President), Ruth Elwood P81-84, Chris Essex K69-75 (Past President), Eryl Essex, Andrew Fane Hon OF (Chairman of Governors), Harvey Finbow (Head Boy), Ian Foster K46-53, Tessa Foster, Rebecca Gemmill M92-00, Paul Goring M73-79, Eleanor Gunn M10-15, Abid Hamid R78-83 (Hon Sec SOF), Barry Hitchcock K60-



65, Leslie Hitchcock, Dudley Holland R45-52, Jackie Holland, Victoria Hollington M93-00, Jill Horton, John Horton G56-60, Alastair Howard-Dobson K90-00, Catherine Howard-Dobson, Melanie Howard-Dobson, Peter Howard-Dobson R65-69, Corrie Hugo S80-85, Chris Keeble S53-59, Arwen Lucey, Gerry Lucey R95-98, Abigail Mackrill V02-06, Tony Martin R47-55, Ken Mayhew R29-34, Norman Mayhew R48-56, Robert Mayhew R53-60, Trish Mayhew, Virginia Mayhew, Malina Mihalache M14-16, Chris Milner-Moore G55-61, Susie Milner-Moore, David Mitchell R50-57, Sue Mitchell, Hannah Norris V93-98, Leo Norris K95-00, Richard Overend S51-57 (Past President), Lady Paice, Sir James Paice G60-66, Andrew Payn Hon OF, Norman Porter K50-57 (Past President; Past Hon Sec SOF), Virginia Porter; Grace Rider (Head Girl), Elizabeth Salter M98-00, Georgina Sayer, Richard Sayer S56-61 (Past President; President of the Corporation of Governors), Brian Smith S53-57 (Past President), Valerie Smith, Michael Smy S58-66, Michael Spencer R51-58, Sheila Spencer, Katie Spowart M09-16, Charlotte Stacey BH93-95, Amanda Taylor, Paul Taylor Hon OF (HM FC), Sally Thomson Hon OF, John Thurlow K48-55, Peggy Thurlow, John Waugh K41-48, Colin Wigg G48-54, Liz Wigg, Amelia Wilson M14-16, Andrew Wright R53-57 (Past President), Margaret Wright, Seamus Wright G95-00, Will Wright R11-16.





















Simon also took the following photos at the preceding AGM







