<u>SOF Annual Dinner 2019 – Report</u>

The 2019 Society of Old Framlinghamians Annual Dinner was held at Framlingham College on Saturday 6 April 2019. Air Vice-Marshal Simon Dougherty, newly elected President of the Society, presided.

After a delicious meal, Richard Sayer paid a fulsome tribute to Headmaster Paul Taylor and his wife Amanda on behalf of the Society, as this was Paul's last attendance at an annual dinner before his retirement in July. Paul and Amanda were presented gifts to mark the occasion by John Ellerby. In his response, Paul Taylor spoke warmly of the close and positive relationship that Framlingham College enjoys with the Society.

One hundred and five attended, comprising 62 OFs, 9 Hon OFs, official guests of the Society, personal guests and partners. The official guests of the Society were: Paul Taylor (Headmaster FC) and Amanda Taylor; Bruce Wilson (representing Headmaster FCPS at Brandeston Hall) and Ros Wilson; Liberty Salsby (Head of School) and Rose Winter (Head Girl) and Joe Lipman (Head Boy).

The longest serving OF attending the dinner was Ken Mayhew (R29-34) who is now 102 years old and 2 shared the most recent leavers place – Rene Bahar and JoJo Maberley both of whom left in 2017. Four recent Moreau Scholars attended – Rene, JoJo plus Luke Quatermaine and Ele Williamson. Three tables of young OFs under the age of 30 were present. Five Past Presidents of the Society: Norman Porter, Brian Smith, Andrew Wright, Richard Sayer and John Ellerby attended.

After the meal, many lingered, chatting with friends and colleagues with the final groups leaving after midnight.

Those present were: Roger Askew K51-56, Stephanie Askew, Rene Bahar M12-17, Geoffrey Balls M75-79, Mike Balls Z78-83, John Barrett R42-46, Brynn Bayman FC Staff, Alice Beazley M06-11, Chris Bellamy G54-64, Celia Beverly, Michael Beverly G64-68, Nigel Burnip S58-65, Patricia Burnip, Nick Chaplin Hon OF, Peter Cole R02-09, Dom Coleridge S06-11, Bill Collard S55-58, Susan Collard, Anna De Grave V06-11, Louise Dougherty, Margaret Dougherty, Philip Dougherty G85-95, Simon Dougherty G60-67, Helen Ellerby, John Ellerby G67-75, Nick Ellerby, Ruth Elwood P81-84, Andrew Fane Hon OF, June Fuller, Michael Fuller S49-57, Paul Goring M75-79, Esther Gosling V09-11, Dudley Holland R45-52, Jackie Holland, Jill Horton, John Horton G56-60, Peter Howard-Dobson R65-69, Christina Johnston V01-06, Slava Johnston S01-06, John Law Z78-83, Justyn Lawson G06-11, Hilary Ling, John Ling S52-56, Joe Lipman Head Boy, JoJo Maberly P04-17, Tony Martin G47-55, Jess Mawson V06-11, Diana Mayhew, Ken Mayhew R29-34, Robert Mayhew R53-57, Trish Mayhew, Audrey McMahon, Jennie McNair V09-11, Tim Moss K79-82, Will Nias G06-10, Alice Over V06-11, Andrew Payn Hon OF, Guy Pelling G06-11, Norman Porter K50-57, Virginia Porter Hon OF, Charlie Precious G06-11, Luke Quartermaine K11-16, Angela Rankin, John Rankin K47-56, Jack Richards G06-11, Christine Ruddock-Broyd, James Ruddock-Broyd G46-52, Liberty Salsby Head of School, Georgina Sayer, Richard Sayer S56-61, Paul Seggons Z75-82, Brian Smith S53-57, Clive Smith S54-58, Jean Smith, Valerie Smith, Ann Smy, Michael Smy S58-66, Christopher Sneath K51-56, Liz Sneath, Michael Spencer R51-58, Sheila Spencer, Julian Stapleton G58-63, Ruth Steggles FCPS Staff, Tony Steggles, Alaster Stockwell-Jones, Charles Summers S05-07, Amanda Taylor Hon OF, Paul Taylor Hon OF, John



Thurlow *K48-55*, Peggy Thurlow, Humphrey Truman *G49-52*, James Tuckett, John Waugh *K41-48*, Susan Wessels *Hon OF*, Nick Whitehead *K06-11*, Colin Wigg *G48-54*, Elizabeth Wigg, Ele Williamson *M13-15*, Bruce Wilson *Hon OF*, Ros Wilson *Hon OF*, Rose Winter *Head Girl*, Andrew Wright *R48-57*, Margaret Wright.

















































